BON Announces ‘Nigerian Broadcasting Awards’


As a way to recognize and reward excellence in the broadcast media industry, the Nigerian Broadcasters (BON) has announced the country’s first industry-wide reward and recognition event, The Nigeria Broadcasting Awards (TNBA).

The TNBA, scheduled for October, was announced in Lagos on Tuesday, where BON President John Ugbe also unveiled the logo for the event.

The President of BON, who is also CEO of MultiChoice Nigeria, stated that the awards were instituted to formally celebrate the excellence of broadcast media professionals, who are responsible for bringing daily information, public information and entertainment to Nigerians.

He revealed that the decision to institute the TNBA was made at the 76th BON General Assembly, which approved the composition of the Awards Steering Committee made up of public and private media houses under the chairmanship of Mr. Guy Murray-Bruce , president of Silverbird Group.

Mr. Ugbe also announced the appointment of Strategic Outcomes Limited as consultants to the Awards Steering Committee.

“BON is therefore organizing The Nigeria Broadcasting Awards (TNBA) to recognize and reward excellence in the broadcast media industry,” said Ugbe.

ALSO READ: BON Awards 2021: ‘Rattlesnake’, ‘The Milkmaid’ win big

He also announced that the prizes, to which BON and non-BON members can opt, will have 13 categories. These include Radio Station/Best TV Station of the Year, Best Radio Station/Best TV Station- News in English, Best Radio Station/Best TV Station-Indigenous Language, Best Radio Station/Best TV Station- Original Production in English and Best Radio Station/ Best Television Station-Original Production in Indigenous Language.

They also include awards for Best Radio/Best Television Station Documentary/Feature Film in English, Best Radio/Best Television Station -Documentary/Feature Film in Indigenous Language, Best Radio/Best Television Program in English, and Best Radio/Best Television Program in English. Indigenous language.

Others are News Anchor of the Year: Radio/TV, Reporter of the Year: Radio/TV, Anchor of the Year: Radio/TV, and Special Contributions to the Broadcast Industry.

Murray-Bruce, chair of the Awards Steering Committee, expressed his hope that the awards will push broadcast media professionals to better standards of practice.

The event attracted many big names in the industry.

BON is the coordinating body for all private, public, commercial and community electronic media organizations in the country and has more than 300 streaming platforms as members.

SEE: Governor Yahaya Bello’s roadmap to Hope 2023

Read More Related News Here

Let here it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; BON Announces ‘Nigerian Broadcasting Awards’