Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degrees


A respected, comprehensive, international study program called the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degree (EMJMD) is jointly offered by a global alliance of colleges and universities.

The top student applicants who submit applications through yearly selection rounds are given EU-funded scholarships by EMJMDs.

At least two of the Programme countries must be visited for the purpose of study. If there is an institution from a partner country engaged, a portion of the studies may also be conducted there.



Field of study

Art: Performing arts and communication and broadcasting technology, Plastic, visual and spatial arts, Music, Theatre and dramatic arts.

Health: Veterinary sciences, Medicine, Dentistry, Public Health, Motor Sciences, Biomedicine and pharmacy

Science and technology: Engineering and technology, Agriculture and bioscience engineering, Architecture and town and country planning

Social and human sciences: Psychology and education, Theology, Law, Political and social sciences, Economics and management, Philosophy, Languages, Literatures and translation studies, Information and communication, Criminology,  History, Art history and archaeology

Type of grant:

Study grant


The Erasmus Mundus Joint Master’s Degree is a study programme of 60, 90 or 120 ECTS credits. Hence, it can last anywhere between 12 months and 24 months.

Grants funded by:

European Commission

Financial terms:

You must first be accepted onto the course by the organizing consortium in order to obtain Erasmus+ financial assistance, and you must then be chosen for an EMJMD scholarship.

The EMJMD scholarship helps with your travel and installation expenses and includes a monthly stipend for the duration of the study program. It also covers your participation costs, such as tuition, library and lab fees, full insurance coverage, and any other mandatory expenses associated with your participation in the Master’s program.

READ ALSO:   How to Apply Guinness Nigeria Undergraduate Scholarship 2020

The overall scholarship amount varies depending on the length of your degree and your country (non-EU students receive larger scholarships).

At least 75% of the scholarships are given to applicants from Partner nations.

Eligibility criteria

Students from all countries are permitted to apply as long as they are at Masters level

Level of study required

According to national laws and procedures in the degree awarding country, you must have completed your first higher education degree or be able to demonstrate a level of learning that is recognized as being equal.

Additional terms and condition

You are not qualified for an extra EMJMD scholarship if you have previously received an Erasmus Mundus Master’s Course/Joint Doctorate scholarship or an EMJMD scholarship. While earning an EMJMD scholarship, you are not eligible to participate in any other scholarship program supported by the EU.

Application process

How to apply

For further information on courses and application requirements, students should browse the online EMJMD Catalogue and get in touch with the consortium delivering the Master’s Course.


Each summer, a fresh group of chosen EMJMDs is added to the list. For courses beginning in the next academic year, most consortia will require applications to be received between October and January.