SDP’s Ajaka defeats APC and PDP in his own electoral unit


The governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) in Kogi State, Muritala Ajaka, won his electoral unit by a wide margin.

Mr Ajaka voted at about 9:37am at Open Space Okotonowa, Electoral Unit, Owoli Apa Ward, Idah Local Government Area (LGA), Kogi State.

He defeated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), backed by the current president, Usman Ododo, and Dino Melaye of the Republican Party. Peoples Democratic Party (PPD).

The SDP candidate polled 273 votes in the electoral unit, while the APC and PDP candidates polled eight votes and one vote respectively.

Newslodge had reported how voters at the polling unit applauded Mr Ajaka when he voted even though he flouted INEC’s warning by showing his fingerprint ballot on Saturday.

A total of 18 political parties are presenting candidates in the ongoing elections.

While the election is considered a three-horse race, the contest appears to be largely between Messrs Ajaka and Ododo, with Mr Melaye still a distant third.

Qosim Suleiman is a reporter for Premium Times in association with Report for the World, which pairs local newsrooms with talented emerging journalists to report on under-covered issues around the world.

Read More Related News Here

Let hear it in the comment below if you do have an opinion on this; SDP’s Ajaka defeats APC and PDP in his own electoral unit

READ ALSO:   Court orders SSS to allow Nnamdi Kanu access to personal doctor